Member Churches

On this page you find some information about the member churches of CPCE. You can choose between different lists: one list has all of the signatory churches and a second one presents the participating churches. You can also search churches by country via the map of Europe.

⇒ See all of the CPCE member churches here.

98 churches have signed the Leuenberg Agreement since 1973 as so-called signatory churches. Seven Methodist churches belong to the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe on the basis of a "Joint Declaration to Church Fellowship." As a result of several mergers, disbanding (Federation of Ev. Ref. Congregations in the GDR) and territorial division (Reformed Christian Church in Yougoslavia), there are at present 94 churches out of 105 member churches. Out of five Scandinavian Lutheran churches, which have participated in the Leuenberg Church Fellowship since 1973 as so-called participating churches, two churches (Denmark and Norway) have lately signed the Leuenberg Agreement. 

More than thirty years have passed since the Church of Lippe became the first church to sign the Leuenberg Agreement in 1973. In the meantime some things have changed:


  • Four German Lutheran churches in Northern Germany (Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Eutin, Lübeck) merged to form the Northelbian Evangelical Lutheran Church.
  • The Protestant Church of Belgium and the Reformed Church of Belgium merged to form the United Protestant Church of Belgium.
  • The Evangelical Church in Berlin-Brandenburg in East and West Germany was reunited.
  • Three Dutch churches (Lutherse, Gereformeerde, Hervormde Kerken) merged to form the Protestant Church in the Netherlands.
  • The Congregational Union of Scotland joined the United Reformed Church.
  • The Evangelical Church in Berlin-Brandenburg and the Evangelical Church of the Silesian Oberlausitz merged to form the Evangelical Church Berlin-Brandenburg-Silesian Oberlausitz
  • In 2009, the Protestant churches in the federal states of Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia merged to form the Evangelical Church in Central Germany


  • Federation of Ev. Ref. Congregations in the GDR

Territorial division

  • Reformed Christian Church in Yougoslavia

Participating Churches

  • The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland, Church of Sweden and Church of Iceland have been participating in the world of the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe without signing to the Leuenberg Agreement.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook

European City of the Reformation